Saturday, 28 April 2012

Research: Cell Cycle Control System and Mitosis

Let's start with the visuals!!!

Type of Cells - Eukaryotic cells are present within the cell cycle

Now for the scientific breakdown ... 
Most eukaryotic cells follow a process of growth and division called the cell cycle. The cell cycle has 5 key stages, this is called the interphase:

G1 – Cell grows

R – Cell decides whether to continue

S – Synthesis and replication of DNA occurs

G2 – Cell prepares to divide

M – Mitosis (cell divide)

G1 - Normal cell functions occur, as well as cell growth

R - This is where cells are checked (as if a health check-up) to see if they're correct for cell and DNA replication

S - In this phase DNA replication occurs, making two copies of chromosome

G2 - Preparation for mitosis and cell division
M - Mitosis has 4 stages (1) Prophase (2) Metaphase (3) Anaphase (4) Telophase

(1) Prophase - Chromosomes become more visible, shorter and thicker. The nuclear envelope breaks down and spindle fibres form, moving to opposite sides of the cell
(2) Metaphase - Chromosomes line up along the equator/centre of the cell preparing to divide
(3) Anaphase - Chromosomes are divided by sister chromatids and move away via its spindle fibre
(4) Telophase - Chromosomes reach the opposite side of the cell and develop a new nuclear envelope around the chromosomes - they then uncoil

Cell Division - Cytokinesis (where cytoplasm separates) occurs and the cells divide into two genetically identical cells  


Bibliography (Accessed on:24/4/12)

No comments:

Post a Comment